Can You Get Work From Speaking Engagements?

I subscribe to a smart enewsletter from “Your Marketing Mentor” Ilise Benum, and in this week’s, she made a provocative statement:

I’ve seen people present to a group and not make the most of it. They think, I’m going to talk, and they’re going to come rushing the stage before I’m done, brandishing contracts and checks. I’ve never seen that happen.

I’m not sure I agree with her although I do agree with her next statement:

Action needs to be taken, on your part, to make the most out of these situations and find your best prospects in the audience.

She goes on to give three solid tips for taking action to get more out of your presentations post-event and these are:

  • Offer to send your PPT.
  • Raffle something off.
  • Offer a free something.

Each action becomes a way of appropriately obtaining someone’s contact information and a good reason to follow up. All excellent tips.

But I’d also argue if you do a “knock-your-socks-off” presentation – not with bells and whistles but with clear, concise, thoughtful know-how, you can get immediate benefits bestowed upon you from members in your audience. I give each of my presentations everything I’ve got, prepare for them to make sure I’m providing tangible value, get psyched up for them, and then come away from them feeling like I’ve run a marathon.

And you know what? Treating presentations like an important job and privilege can pay off. Often after presenting, I’m offered new speaking opportunities – and this is where follow up is key. I’ve also received inquiries about consulting (it is not always obvious that I consult because I make a point not to promote my company or services when presenting) and have been all but hired on the spot. And in several cases, I received an inquiry about writing a book (neither turned out to be a fit, but it was exciting to get the queries).

I don’t think these kinds of results from speaking engagements are unusual if you work hard at what you doing. Presentations shouldn’t be after thoughts. The material you present should not be commercials for you or your company. The information needs to be easy to understand and digest with actionable items for the audience to take with them and deploy right away.

How are wowing your audiences with substance and getting not just the kudos but the offers you deserve?

About Aliza
I'm a human being, wife, mother, author, and speaker. Online since 1987. Web pioneer (founded Cybergrrl/Webgrrls in 1995). #bookgirl #travelgirl #worklifetechzen

Leave a Reply

